Nouwen and The Art of Living

The Art of Living series offers fresh understanding and insight on Henri Nouwen’s essential teachings. This set includes five courses on Identity, God, Love, Suffering, and Freedom.

Takes approximately 6 days to complete.


Training more than one person?


Bible, Faith & Everyday Life, Spiritual Practices, and Thinking Theologically

Course Description

This five-course series invites some of today’s gifted devotional writers to explore Henri Nouwen’s most essential teachings. This set includes all five courses in the Art of Living series: Identity, God, Love, Suffering, and Freedom.

Each course breaks open Henri’s words and places them in today’s context, offering fresh understanding and insight for both newcomers and longtime followers alike. Now more than ever, the church and the world need a fresh perspective on the transformative power of Christian spirituality.

The FULLER Equip version features videos of Henri Nouwen teaching on these themes plus handy guides for small group discussion.


  • Identity: Finding Myself in God

Discover the deep peace of recognizing yourself as a treasured child of God.

A wonderful introduction to one of Nouwen’s core teachings, this course is a must for every Christian today. Reflect on the spiritual writings and video of Henri Nouwen teaching as he explores identity and finding ourselves in God.

Author Chris Pritchett, parish pastor and board member of the Henri Nouwen Society, uses Nouwen’s insights on this topic as a springboard into stories from his own life that highlight who we are in God

  • God: Discovering the Divine

As we seek to know and experience God in our lives, Nouwen offers insight and direction for the ultimate discovery.

Finding God is fundamental to our nature as Christians in this world, so it is no wonder that Henri Nouwen reflects in his works on where God can be found and how God finds us. Nouwen’s search for God weaves throughout his writing, ending at the cross.

Author Chris Pritchett invites us to join him in his personal journey discovering the divine, while guiding us through Nouwen’s writings on how we can draw closer to God in Jesus in our own lives.

  • Love: Experiencing Deep Connection

Open your connection with God—and with all—by reflecting on the richness of God’s unending love for us.

One of the foundational expressions of Nouwen’s work, themes of God’s tremendous love for us are found throughout his masterful writing and teaching. For Nouwen, love is a path inward, outward and upward, and love is a house in which we dwell with God.

Author Chris Pritchett explores these insights on our Savior’s love and helps us tie them to experiences of love in our own lives.

  • Suffering: Transforming Our Pain

Overcoming pain and suffering is one of the great challenges of spiritual growth.

Nouwen urges us to transform our pain into new life in Christ. He wrote and taught extensively on the presence of pain and suffering in the world and insightfully put it in the spiritual context of living with and through it as a Christian. For Nouwen, suffering is a conduit through which faith is revealed.

Through our brokenness, an avenue to the presence of God is formed. Author Marjorie Thomas draws upon Nouwen’s perspective on suffering to help the reader navigate the path of pain—and bring glory to God in the process.

  • Freedom: Finding Peace in Anxious Times

Amid anxious times, find freedom in Christ.

No stranger to anxiety, spiritual master Henri Nouwen wrote genuinely about the search for peace and the quest for freedom from our troubled hearts. Nouwen expresses how our sense of security is often found in temporal things, when it should be grounded in the everlasting.

Author Marjorie Thomas follows the lessons Nouwen learned on finding freedom from anxiety helps us to integrate those lessons into a life of deep meaning.


Take a peek inside the course: Preview


These beautiful and engaging courses were created in partnership with Bayard Press and the Henri Nouwen Society.

Meet Your Instructors

Fuller Center for Spiritual Formation & Henri Nouwen Legacy Trust

The Fuller Center for Spiritual Formation (FSF) equips leaders everywhere to grow and send everyone. Re-engage your passion for leading others in spiritual formation and discipleship with the trusted support of Fuller Theological Seminary. Working side by side, we’ll support your pastoral voice, engage your people, and help shape your community by creating new and sustainable pathways of spiritual formation in your church or organization. Learn more at—where communities thrive through spiritual formation.

Henri Nouwen Legacy Trust (HNLT) is dedicated to introducing Henri Nouwen to a new generation of readers and seekers through creative programs, partnerships, and initiatives and to create resources for Christian spiritual formation using the writings of Henri Nouwen. HNLT has collaborated with Bayard Inc. Publishers in the production of a series of five booklets based on certain writings of Henri Nouwen to commemorate the 25th anniversary of Henri Nouwen’s death.

What is a FULLER Equip course?

The FULLER Equip courses are designed with the goal of providing a comprehensive education in the study of Scripture and its practical applications to life, work, and the advancement of God's kingdom.

These courses are specifically tailored to meet the needs of learners around the world, offering a global perspective on the study of Scripture and its relevance to everyday life.

Whether you are looking to deepen your personal understanding of Scripture, or seeking to apply its principles to your professional life or ministry, FULLER Equip courses offer a wide range of resources and tools to help you achieve your goals.

From online lectures and interactive discussions to practical assignments and case studies, these courses are designed to engage learners at all levels and equip them with the knowledge and skills they need to succeed. So whether you are a beginner or an experienced student of Scripture, FULLER Equip courses have something to offer everyone.

100% Online

Begin your learning right away and tailor your schedule to your individual needs.

Flexible Learning

Empower your learning journey with our flexible approach.


Take control of your learning and explore at your own pace, with support and guidance from expert instructors.

About FULLER Equip

FULLER Equip is an extension of Fuller Theological Seminary. It offers non-degree courses, professional certificate programs, training services, and research to help individuals and organizations advance the kingdom of God. FULLER Equip provides courses covering theology, leadership, counseling, and more. Professional certificate programs offer specialized study. Equip also offers training services such as customized workshops and coaching. Lastly, Equip conducts research and engages in strategic partnerships to innovate Christian ministry and service.

Train Your Entire Team

Connect with a member of our expert team to learn more about how we can customize the course to meet your specific organizational needs.

Connect with Our Team ➤

Get notified when new courses are released on FULLER Equip...